Scotland women fight back to beat Wales

Sarah Law's penalty
Sarah Law's penalty gave Scotland a memorable win
Women's Six Nations
Scotland (7) 15
Tries: Thomson, Lloyd Con: Law Pen: Law
Wales (14) 14
Tries: Phillips, penalty try Cons: Snowsill 2

Scotland secured their first Women's Six Nations win since 2010 as they recovered from two tries down to beat Wales.

Carys Phillips' score was followed by a penalty try for the visitors, with Elinor Snowsill converting both.

The Scots responded with Lisa Thomson's converted try, and Rhona Lloyd crossing in the second half.

Lana Skeldon missed the conversion for Lloyd's try, but Sarah Law's late penalty gave the Scots victory.

It was a second straight defeat for the Welsh, who took a losing bonus point, and both sides move to five points after three matches.

Scotland, whose last win in the Championship came against France, lost out narrowly to Ireland in the opening match of this year's tournament.

An early Law penalty was wide before Wales got their two tries.

The first came off a driving maul, with Phillips touching down, before the Welsh forced their penalty try from a scrum.

Lisa Thomson scores a try
Thomson's try started Scotland's recovery

Scotland captain Lisa Martin was stopped short of the line as the visitors came under pressure towards the end of the first half.

But the home side were rewarded for their endeavours when Law offloaded for Thomson to cross and Law converted.

The Scots carried their improvement into the second half and a series of pick-and-go attacks eventually ended with Lloyd touching down in the left corner.

However, Skeldon's conversion attempt from a tight angle fell short.

Scotland's passion remained intact, however, and Wales' defence had to battle hard to protect their slender lead until an offside gave the hosts their second penalty of the evening.

And Law held her nerve with the decisive kick.

Scotland: C Rollie, Megan Gaffney, Lisa Thomson, Lisa Martin (capt), Rhona Lloyd, Helen Nelson, Sarah Law; Tracey Balmer, Lana Skeldon, Lindsey Smith, Emma Wassell, Deborah McCormack, Jemma Forsyth, Louise McMillan, Jade Konkel.

Replacements: Lucy Park, Heather Lockhart, Katie Dougan, Sarah Bonar, Lyndsay O'Donnell, Jenny Maxwell, Eilidh Sinclair, Lauren Harris.

Wales: Dyddgu Hywel, Jasmine Joyce, Kerin Lake, Rebecca de Filippo, Elen Evans, Elinor Snowsill, Rhiannon Parker; Cerys Hale, Carys Phillips (capt), Amy Evans, Rebecca Rowe, Mel Clay, Alisha Butchers, Rachel Taylor, Sioned Harries.

Replacements: Lowri Harries, Gwenllian Pyrs, Caryl Thomas, Siwan Lillicrap, Nia Elen Davies, Sian Moore, Robyn Wilkins, Gemma Rowland.


Get the latest news delivered to your inbox

Follow us on social media networks

Zanobya Magazine