Wales name uncapped trio in team to face Tonga

Wales v Tonga and Samoa
Venue: Eden Park, Auckland Date: 16 June Kick-off: 06:35 BST
Coverage: Live on S4C. Live commentary on On Events Radio Wales, Radio Cymru online, mobile, the Eyes On Events Sport app and Connected TV (UK only).

Wales give debuts to Scarlets wing Steff Evans, Cardiff Blues lock Seb Davies and Wasps flanker Thomas Young on tour against Tonga in Auckland on Friday.

Ospreys' Sam Davies is at fly-half with Blues' Gareth Anscombe at full-back.

Twelve Wales players are also in New Zealand with the British and Irish Lions, giving chances to fresh faces under tour coach Robin McBryde.

There are six uncapped players on the bench at Eden Park.

Wales tour: Tomas Francis relishes Wales bid to make Eden Park history

That means front-row trio Ryan Elias, Wyn Jones (both Scarlets) and Blues' Dillon Lewis are likely to make debuts along with Newport Gwent Dragons flanker Ollie Griffiths and new Gloucester fly-half or centre Owen Williams.

Blues lock Davies is alongside five-times capped Cory Hill, of Dragons, in the second-row.

Harlequins centre Jamie Roberts will win his 95th Wales cap while leading them for the first time and partnering Scarlets' Scott Williams.

Roberts and Blues wing wing Alex Cuthbert were Lions in Australia in 2013.

Scarlets blind-side flanker Aaron Shingler returns while scrum-half team-mate Gareth Davies has another chance to impress in the absence of Lions tourist Rhys Webb.

Wales face ‘uncomfortable’ Tests – McBryde

Ospreys loose-head Nicky Smith is also back in a starting front-row completed by Blues hooker Kristian Dacey and Exeter tight-head Thomas Francis.

McBryde is in charge while Warren Gatland guides the Lions with Rob Howley one of the Lions assistant coaches.

"It's a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity for our players to be taking part in this match at Eden Park, and we expect them to make the most of it," said McBryde.

Wales face Tonga at Eden Park as a warm-up to New Zealand hosting Samoa there.

McBryde then takes his Wales squad to Samoa to face them in Apia on Friday, 23 June.

Wales team

Gareth Anscombe (Cardiff Blues); Alex Cuthbert (Cardiff Blues), Scott Williams (Scarlets), Jamie Roberts (capt, Harlequins), Steffan Evans (Scarlets); Sam Davies (Ospreys), Gareth Davies (Scarlets); Nicky Smith (Ospreys) Kristian Dacey (Cardiff Blues) Tomas Francis (Exeter Chiefs), Seb Davies (Cardiff Blues), Cory Hill (Newport Gwent Dragons), Aaron Shingler (Scarlets,), Thomas Young (Wasps), Josh Navidi (Cardiff Blues).

Replacements: Ryan Elias (Scarlets), Wyn Jones (Scarlets), Dillon Lewis (Cardiff Blues), Ellis Jenkins (Cardiff Blues), Ollie Griffiths (Newport Gwent Dragons), Aled Davies (Scarlets), Owen Williams (Gloucester), Cory Allen (Ospreys).


Get the latest news delivered to your inbox

Follow us on social media networks

Zanobya Magazine