Saracens reach third Champions Cup final in four years

Mako Vunipola bundled over at the bottom of a pile of bodies to set Saracens on their way
Aviva Premiership
Munster (3) 10
Try: Stander Con: Keatley Pen: Bleyendaal
Saracens (6) 26
Tries: M Vunipola, Wyles Cons: Farrell 2 Pens: Farrell 4

Defending champions Saracens survived a first-half examination from Munster before taking control to reach a third Champions Cup final in four years.

Munster dominated the first half but only led 6-3 at the break, Tyler Bleyendaal landing one penalty to two from Owen Farrell.

A converted Mako Vunipola try saw Saracens start to pull away.

And, with Farrell landing his shots at goal for a 100% record, a Chris Wyles try saw them home with some ease.

Saracens will face the winner of Sunday's Clermont Auvernge v Leinster match in the final in Edinburgh on Saturday, 13 May.

More to follow.


Munster: Simon Zebo; Andrew Conway, Jaco Taute, Rory Scannell, Keith Earls; Tyler Bleyendaal, Duncan Williams; Dave Kilcoyne, Niall Scannell, John Ryan; Donnacha Ryan, Billy Holland; Peter O'Mahony (capt), Tommy O'Donnell, CJ Stander.

Replacements: Rhys Marshall, James Cronin, Stephen Archer, Dave O'Callaghan, Jean Deysel, Ian Keatley, Francis Saili, Darren Sweetnam.

Saracens: Alex Goode; Chris Ashton, Marcelo Bosch, Brad Barritt (capt), Sean Maitland; Owen Farrell, Richard Wigglesworth; Mako Vunipola, Jamie George, Vincent Koch; Maro Itoje, George Kruis; Michael Rhodes, Jackson Wray, Billy Vunipola

Replacements: Schalk Brits, Titi Lamositele, Petrus Du Plessis, Jim Hamilton, Schalk Burger, Ben Spencer, Alex Lozowski, Chris Wyles

For the latest rugby union news follow @bbcrugbyunion on Twitter.


Get the latest news delivered to your inbox

Follow us on social media networks

Zanobya Magazine