England select 15 uncapped players for Argentina tour

England head coach Eddie Jones has named 15 uncapped players in his 31-man squad to tour Argentina in June.

Dylan Hartley will be captain after being left out of the Lions squad.

Flanker Sam Underhill, New Zealand-born cross-code convert Denny Solomona, and fly-half Piers Francis - who will join Northampton from Auckland Blues in the summer - are included.

There are also call-ups for Sale twins Ben and Tom Curry, 18, as well as Saracens forward Nick Isiekwe, 19.

After missing out on Lions selection, the likes of Joe Launchbury, James Haskell, Chris Robshaw, George Ford and Mike Brown all are included, but there is no place for Danny Cipriani, Christian Wade or Semesa Rokoduguni.

Harlequins Jack Clifford and Sam Jones of Wasps are unavailable through injury.

"We are looking forward to going to Argentina and winning 2-0," said head coach Jones.

"There are a few new faces so every training session and team meeting will count."

Australian Glen Ella, who coached England on tour last summer, will again join Jones' backroom team.

On the tour, England will face their hosts in San Juan on Saturday 10 June and against in Santa Fe a week later.


Forwards: Will Collier (Harlequins, uncapped), Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs, 4 caps), Ben Curry (Sale Sharks, uncapped), Tom Curry (Sale Sharks, uncapped), Charlie Ewels (Bath Rugby, 3 caps), Ellis Genge (Leicester Tigers, 1 cap), Dylan Hartley - captain (Northampton Saints, 84 caps), James Haskell (Wasps, 75 caps), Paul Hill (Northampton Saints, 5 caps), Nathan Hughes (Wasps, 8 caps), Nick Isiekwe (Saracens, uncapped), Joe Launchbury (Wasps, 42 caps), Matt Mullan (Wasps, 15 caps), Chris Robshaw (Harlequins, 55 caps), Sam Underhill (Ospreys/Bath Rugby, uncapped), Harry Williams (Exeter Chiefs, uncapped), Tom Wood (Northampton Saints, 50 caps)

Backs: Mike Brown - vice-captain (Harlequins, 60 caps), Danny Care - vice captain (Harlequins, 71 caps), Joe Cokanasiga (London Irish, uncapped), Nathan Earle (Saracens, uncapped), George Ford - vice captain (Bath Rugby, 35 caps), Piers Francis (Auckland Blues/Northampton Saints, uncapped), Sam James (Sale Sharks, uncapped), Alex Lozowski (Saracens, uncapped), Harry Mallinder (Northampton Saints, uncapped), Joe Marchant (Harlequins, uncapped), Jack Maunder (Exeter Chiefs, uncapped), Jonny May (Gloucester Rugby, 25 caps), Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs, 4 caps), Denny Solomona (Sale Sharks, uncapped)


Get the latest news delivered to your inbox

Follow us on social media networks

Zanobya Magazine